JOINT COMMITTEE FOR THE NORTH OF ENGLAND OPEN-AIR MUSEUM

BEAMISH JOINT COMMITTEE

At the Annual Meeting of the Beamish Joint Committee held in the Collections Study Room, Regional Resource Centre, Beamish Museum, Beamish on **Friday 5 July 2013** at **10.00** am

Present:

Members of the Committee:

Councillors A Batey, J Bell, R Bell, J Blakey, J Buckham, C Carr, P Conway, D Hicks, S Iveson, J Lethbridge, J Maitland, O Milburn, S Morrison, P Oliver, T Pemberton and R Todd (Durham County Council)
Councillors Bob Goldsworthy (Gateshead MBC), Linda Green (Gateshead MBC), Richard Bell (Sunderland City Council), John Kelly (Sunderland City Council), Dennis Richardson (Sunderland City Council) and Alan Ashburner (Friends of Beamish)

Co-opted Members (Non-Voting)

Friends – Mr Ashburner and Mr Dix

Apologies:

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors I Jewell, J Shuttleworth and D Stoker (Durham County Council), F Cunningham, Nancy Maxwell (South Tyneside MBC), Jill Fletcher, John Scott (Sunderland City Council), Dorothy Trueman (Sunderland City Council), Peter Walker (Sunderland City Council), Simon Gray, Edna Hunter (Beamish Development Trust) and Sarah Stewart (Beamish Development Trust)

1 Election of Chairman

Resolved:

That Councillor C Marshall of Durham County Council be elected Chairman of the Joint Committee for the ensuing year.

Councillor C Marshall in the Chair

The Chairman thanked the previous Chairman and Vice-Chairman and looked forward to working with members and officers through the coming year especially with the transition changes.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

Resolved:

That Councillor R Bell of Sunderland City Council be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee for the ensuing year.

Councillor Bell thanked members and officers for their support during the last year and congratulated the Museum on all of the achievements over the year.

- 3 Appointment of Co-opted Members -
 - (i) Representing the Friends of the Museum (2) Mr A Ashburner and Mr Dix.
 - (ii) Representing the Beamish Development Trust (3) to be confirmed.

The Secretary reported that he had received the following nominations for co-option onto the Joint Committee:-

- (i) Friends Mr A Ashburner and Mr M Dix
- (ii) Beamish Development Trust to be confirmed at a later date

Resolved:

That the following be appointed as Co-opted Members of the Joint Committee:-

Mr A Ashburner and Mr M Dix (Friends)

- 4 Constitution and Appointment of Sub-Committees: -
 - (i) Finance and General Purposes

Resolved:

- (i) That the constitution of the Finance and General Purposes Sub-Committee be the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two Members from each Constituent Authority provided that the number of each Authority's Members on the Finance and General Purposes Sub-Committee does not exceed the number of that Authority's members on the Joint Committee, together with one co-opted Member (non-voting) from the Friends of the Museum.
- (ii) That the Members for 2013/14 are to be as follows:

Councillor C Marshall (Chairman) Councillor R Bell (Vice-Chairman) Councillors Buckham and Conway (Durham) Councillors Goldsworthy and Green (Gateshead) Councillor Cowie (North Tyneside) Councillors Cunningham and Maxwell (South Tyneside) Councillors Kelly and Walker (Sunderland) Mr A Ashburner (Non-voting Co-opted Member).

(iii) That in the absence of nominated Members representing Constituent Authorities substitutes be allowed to attend.

(ii) Emergencies Sub-Committee

Resolved:

That the membership of the Emergencies Sub-Committee be as follows:-

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two other Members to be nominated by the Secretary in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, if available.

(iii) Tenders Sub-Committee

Resolved:

That the membership of the Tenders Sub-Committee be as follows:-

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee together with two other Members to be nominated by the Secretary in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, if available.

Appointment of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Sub-Committees - past practice has been for the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee to be Chairman and Vice-Chairman of all Sub-Committees

Resolved:

That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Joint Committee be the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of all Sub-Committees.

6 Minutes of the Meeting held on 28 June 2013

The minutes of the meeting held on 28 June 2013 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

7 Review of the museum during 2012/13 - Presentation by Museum Director

The Museum Director gave a detailed presentation outlining the progress of the Museum for 2012/13 and outlining projects for 2013/14 (for copy see file of Minutes).

Any resolution relating to the exclusion of the public during the discussion of items containing exempt information.

Resolved:-

That under Section 100 A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 3 of Schedule 12A to the said Act.

9 Governance and Partnership Review Update - Joint Report of Museum Director and Company Secretary

The Joint Committee received an update from the Company Secretary further to Committee approval given in March 2013 about the direction of travel regarding the proposed changes to partnership working with North East Local Authorities and the simplification of governance arrangements.

Resolved:-

That the recommendation contained within the report be approved.